Last Updated: Mar 24, 2014
DBQ Collaboration Project - Helpful Links
Don't neglect the Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Resources among these widgets--especially the History, Law, Nation & World, and Social Science shelves within that virtual collection because they have information on mass media, supreme court cases, immigration, terrorism etc., and also primary source materials in many of these online etexts.
- Today's Front Pages Newseum Page
Through a special agreement with more than 800 newspapers worldwide, the Newseum displays their front pages each day on its website. It also has a link to an Archive of front pages on dates of particular global/historical significance such as the 9/11 attacks.
- The Nieman Reports
Nieman Reports, a quarterly published by Harvard's Nieman Foundation, is the “nation’s oldest magazine devoted to a critical examination of the practice of journalism.
- The Journalists' Toolbox
The Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ)sponsors this toolbox of sources to help journalists find the type of information they need in researching for their stories.
- Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy
The Journalist’s Resource project examines news topics through a research lens. The organization focuses on surfacing scholarly materials that may be relevant to other media practitioners, bloggers, educators, students and general readers. In 2013 the American Library Association named it one of their best free reference Web sites. The searchable database contains top academic and governmental research that the center has selected and synthesized, and also presents credible and citable studies and reports from across the wider Web.
- Internet Public Library - Pathfinders Index
On this page of the IPL site you can find specific pathfinders for researching Presidents of the United States and Immigration in the United States.
- Virtual Learning Resource Center's Magbot
MagBot is a full-text magazine reference and research site offering free hot-topic (social issues) magazine and journal articles for students and teachers.
- The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History - Primary Sources
Owned by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History and located at the New-York Historical Society, the Gilder Lehrman Collection is a unique archive of primary sources in American history. The Collection includes more than 60,000 letters, diaries, maps, pamphlets, printed books, newspapers, photographs, and ephemera that document the political, social, and economic history of the United States.
This is a targeted search engine for students, teachers, administrators, and caregivers designed especially for those groups. Searchers can find authoritative, intelligent, and time-saving resources in a safe, editor-reviewed environment with iSEEK.
These are the first five videos in a series of eight total about the process of writing a DBQ made by The Historical Thinker.